Á



Executive Committee Task Force on State and Local Taxation

Hyatt Regency Resort * June 28-29, 2018 * Incline Village, Nevada

Unless otherwise noted, all meetings will be held in the Lakeside B/C.

Agenda

Thursday – June 28

12:45 – 1:00 p.m. Welcome and Introductions

The Task Force chairs will provide an overview of the meeting followed by attendee introductions.

- * Senator Pam Althoff, Illinois
- * Representative Chris Perone, Connecticut

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Filling Transportation's Empty Tank

The transportation funding shortfall and the uncertain outlook of motor fuels taxes have been well documented and debated in recent years. While many legislatures have acted to shore up transportation funds, the long-term viability of current funding sources is in doubt. Kevin Pula of NCSL's Transportation Program and Adrian Moore, Vice President of Policy at the Reason Foundation, will discuss emerging ideas for sustainable transportation funding and the political realities that may hinder or help a move away from motor fuels taxes.

NCSL Resource: Transportation Funding and Financing

- * Adrian Moore, Reason Foundation
- * Kevin Pula, National Conference of State Legislatures

2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Remote Sales Tax: Next Steps for States after Wayfair

On June 21, the Supreme Court ruled in *South Dakota v. Wayfair* that states can require businesses without a physical presence in the state to collect and remit sales taxes on in-state transactions. While a tremendous victory for states and Main Street USA, states have a lot of work ahead to ensure that their newfound authority is implemented correctly and fairly. Efficient, easy, and friendly tax administration is important for successful and lasting implementation of this long overdue collection authority.

NCSL Resource: Remote Sales Tax

Panel 1

✤ Brian Galle, Georgetown University Law Center

Panel 2

- Senator Curt Bramble, Utah, NCSL Past President (Moderator)
- ✤ Rachelle Bernstein, National Retail Federation
- Scott Drenkard, Tax Foundation
- ✤ Joe Rinzel, Retail Industry Leaders Association
- * Commissioner John Valentine, Chair, Utah Tax Commission

	Panel 3
	 Max Behlke, National Conference of State Legislatures (Moderator) Craig Johnson, Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board Steve Kranz, McDermott Will & Emery Director Dan Noble, Wyoming Department of Revenue David Quam, Nelson Mullins Crast Turner Law
	Greg Turner, Turner Law
4:30 – 5:30 p.m.	The Future of Gaming and Sports Betting
	On May 14, 2018, the United States Supreme Court found the Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (PASPA) unconstitutional and violative of the 10th Amendment. States may now legalize and regulate sports betting activity – something states have not been able to do in more than 26 years. Tax, revenue and spending, law enforcement, and gaming laws will all be implicated. This session will examine gaming trends and discuss the future of state tax laws as they relate to future of sports betting.
	 Kahlil Philander, Ph.D., Washington State University Attorney General Curtis T. Hill, Indiana Ethan Wilson, National Conference of State Legislatures Brian Cohen, American Gaming Association A.G. Burnett, McDonald Carano
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.	Task Force Reception and Dinner
Reception	and Dinner are for Task Force Members, Sponsors, and Invited Guests Only
Friday – Ju	ne 29

7:00 – 8:30 a.m. LEG Lounge	Breakfast
8:30 – 9:00 a.m.	 Business Meeting and Task Force Roundtable Senator Pam Althoff, Illinois Representative Chris Perone, Connecticut
9:00 – 10:00 a.m.	Diving Back into Federal Tax Reform Congress may have finished its tax overhaul last year, but for state governments, the scramble continues. While each state has its own approach to taxation, all states draw upon the federal tax code to some degree. This means every state will need to analyze their own laws and see what changes will need to be made in response to the federal bill. This session will continue our discussion of federal tax reform and what/how states have already responded.
	NCSL Resource: Federal Tax Reform and the States
	 Karl Frieden, Council on State Taxation Steve Kranz, McDermott, Will and Emery Liz Malm, Multistate Associates Nate Rigney, H&R Block
Task Force on Sta	ate and Local Taxation's Homepage: http://www.ncsl.org/ncsl-in-dc/task-

forces/task-force-on-state-and-local-taxation.aspx

10:00 –11:30 a.m.	 Short Term Rental Lodging Taxes: Voluntary Collection Agreements or Marketplace Collection? Many state and local governments around the country have entered into voluntary collection agreements (VCAs) with short-term rental marketplaces to increase lodging, accommodations, and sales tax revenues. A number of policymakers have contested these agreements. In light of <i>South Dakota v. Wayfair</i> and the discussion about marketplace collection of sales tax, what's the right collection model for other tax types, such as those on short-term lodging accommodations? Troy Flanagan, American Hotel and Lodging Association Senator Glenn Wakai, Hawaii 	
	✤ Greg Astley, Oregon Restaurant and Lodging Association	
Noon	Adjournment	
FUTURE TASK FORCE MEETINGS		
JULY 29, 2018		
	LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA	
NO	IN CONJUNCTION WITH CSL'S LEGISLATIVE SUMMIT (JULY 30 – AUG. 2)	
NOVEMBER 16-17, 2018		
SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA		
	UK's Tax Avoidance Schemes Regulations 2006, it is illegal not to tell the taxman u don't want him to know, though you don't have to tell him anything you don't mind .g.	

Task Force Membership

Co-Chair, Senator Pam Althoff, Illinois Co-Chair, Representative Chris Perone, Connecticut

Representative Chris Sells, Alabama Senator David Farnsworth, Arizona **Representative Dan Douglas, Arkansas Representative Helene Keeley, Delaware Representative Tracy Kraft-Tharp**, Colorado **Councilmember Anita Bonds**, Washington D.C. **Representative David Santiago, Florida Representative Jay Powell, Georgia Representative Scott Saiki, Hawaii Representative Sylvia Luke, Hawaii Representative Lance Clow, Idaho** Senator Toi Hutchinson, Illinois **Representative Marcus Evans Jr., Illinois Representative Michael Zalewski, Illinois Representative Tim Brown, Indiana** Senator Randy Feenstra, Iowa Senator Dan Kerschen, Kansas **Representative Julie Stokes, Louisiana** Senator Brian Feldman, Maryland **Representative Jay Kaufman**, **Massachusetts Representative Joyce Peppin, Minnesota** Senator Ann Rest, Minnesota Senator Jim Smith, Nebraska Assemblywoman Irene Bustamante-Adams, Nevada **Representative Norman Major. New Hampshire Representative Carl Trujillo, New Mexico Representative Jason Harper, New Mexico** Assemblyman Felix Ortiz, New York Senator David Carlucci, New York **Representative John Szoka**, North Carolina Senator Dwight Cook, North Dakota

Representative Gary Scherer, Ohio Representative Timothy Schaffer, Ohio Repesentative John Rogers, Ohio Senator Roger Thompson, Oklahoma **Representative Barbara Smith Warner.** Oregon **Representative Brian Kennedy**, **Rhode Island Representative Nathan Ballentine**, South Carolina Senator Paul Campbell Jr., South Carolina Senator Deb Peters. South Dakota Senator Ernie Otten, South Dakota **Representative Kevin Brooks, Tennessee Representative Dennis Bonnen, Texas Representative Dan Flynn**, Texas **Representative Drew Springer, Texas** Senator Wayne Harper, Utah Senator Howard Stephenson, Utah Senator Curtis Bramble, Utah **Representative Janet Ancel, Vermont** Senator Christine Rolfes, Washington **Delegate Eric Nelson, West Virginia** Senator Alberta Darling, Wisconsin **Representative John Macco, Wisconsin**

Legislative Staff

Esther Van Mourik, Colorado Jennifer Hays, Kentucky Mary Ann Cleary, Michigan Katherine Schill, Minnesota Megan Moore, Montana Dan Schmidt, Wisconsin

NCSL Staff

Max Behlke, Washington, D.C. Jake Lestock, Washington, D.C.