National Conference of State Legislatures Report of the 2023 Legislator Nominating Committee

The National Conference of State Legislatures By-Laws provide that the President-Elect shall succeed automatically to the Presidency. Therefore, no action is required for Speaker Pro Tem Brian Patrick Kennedy, Rhode Island, to succeed to the office of NCSL President. Speaker Robin Vos, Wisconsin automatically succeeds to the office of President Emeritus.

For President-Elect, we nominate Senate President Pro Tem Wayne Harper, Utah.

For Vice President, we nominate Representative Marcus Evans, Illinois.

For at-large legislator membership on the Executive Committee, we nominate the following legislators:

Speaker Pro Tem Tyler August, Wisconsin

Representative Barbara Ballard, Kansas

Senator Cristina Castro, Illinois

Representative Kurt Daudt, Minnesota

Senator Marilyn Dondero Loop, Nevada

Senator Bob Duff, Connecticut

Representative Deborah Ferguson, Arkansas

Senate President Donna Frett-Gregory, USVI

Representative Roger Goodman, Washington

Speaker Roger Hanshaw, West Virginia

Representative Sonya Harper, Illinois

Senator Briggs Hopson, Mississippi

Senate President Matt Huffman, Ohio

Delegate Terry Kilgore, Virginia

Representative Ryan Lane, New Mexico

Senate President Ty Masterson, Kansas

Assemblymember John McDonald, New York

Representative Sam McKenzie, Tennessee

Senator Becky Massey, Tennessee

Senator Ann Millner, Utah

Representative Billy Mitchell, Georgia

Speaker Sherman Packard, New Hampshire

Majority Leader Dan Saddler, Alaska

Speaker Joe Shekarchi, Rhode Island

Senate President Karen Spilka, Massachusetts

Speaker Ben Toma, Arizona

Senator Whitney Westerfield, Kentucky

In accordance with the NCSL By-Laws, membership on the NCSL Executive Committee shall include representatives hosting the NCSL Annual Meeting. These individuals include: Senator Eric Bassler, Indiana for the 2023 Legislative Summit in Indianapolis and Senat President Robert Stivesr, Kentucky for 2024. We defer to the Massachusetts leaders to choose for 2025. For international affiliate ex-officio member, the committee nominates Member Mathieu Lemay, of the Quebec National Assembly.

National Conference of State Legislatures Report of the 2023 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee

The National Conference of State Legislatures By-laws provide that the NCSL Staff Vice Chair shall succeed to the office of Staff Chair. Therefore, no action is required for Sabrina Lewellen, Deputy Director and Assistant Secretary of the Arkansas Senate to succeed to the office of NCSL Staff Chair.

Anne Sappenfield, Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council automatically succeeds to the office of Immediate Past Staff Chair.

For Staff Vice Chair, we nominate John Snyder, Committee Staff Administrator, Transportation Committee, Legislative Research Commission, Kentucky.

For at-large legislative staff membership on the Executive Committee, we nominate the following legislative staff:

Martin Brock, Chief, North Carolina General Assembly Police Department, North Carolina

Natalie Castle, Director, Legislative Council Staff, Colorado

Lonnie Edgar, Deputy Director, PEER Committee, Mississippi

Doug Himes, Ethics Counsel, Tennessee General Assembly

Eric Katz, Counsel to the Majority, New York State Senate

Terri Kondeff, Director, Legislative Services Office, Idaho

Cliff McCollum, Director of Constituent Services, Baldwin County Legislative Delegation, Alabama Rich Olsen, Director, Legislative Services Division, West Virginia

Jill Reinmuth, Staff Director, Office of Program Research, House of Representatives, Washington

Paul Smith, Clerk of the House, New Hampshire

Betsy Theroux, Director, Media Services, House of Representatives, Georgia

Erica Warren, Assistant Statute Reviser, Kentucky

Will Tracy, Communications Specialist/Videographer, House of Representatives, Arkansas