









September 26, 2023

The Honorable Ron Wyden
Chair
Senate Committee on Finance
219 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair House Committee on Energy and Commerce 2188 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mike Crapo
Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Finance
219 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Frank Pallone
Ranking Member
House Committee on Energy and
Commerce
2107 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chair Wyden, Ranking Member Crapo, Chair Rodgers and Ranking Member Pallone,

On behalf of the nation's state and local government elected and appointed officials we respectfully urge your support for bipartisan legislation that amends the Medicaid Inmate Exclusion Policy (MIEP) of the Social Security Act §1905(a)(A) which revokes federal health benefits for adults and juveniles both during and prior to conviction. By amending this policy, the Reentry Act (H.R. 2400/S.1165) and the Due Process Continuity of Care Act (H.R.3074/S.971) will facilitate a crucial path forward for programs that improve health outcomes and reduce rates of recidivism.

Justice-involved people are disproportionately low-income and often have complex and/or chronic medical and behavioral health challenges. The American Psychological Association

<u>reported</u> that in 2014, 64% of jail inmates, 54% of state prisoners and 45% of federal prisoners reported mental health concerns. In a 2020 report, the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) <u>estimated</u> that 85% of incarcerated people in the US have an active substance use disorder or were incarcerated for a crime involving drugs or drug use. In its January 2023 <u>report</u> to congress, the Medicaid Reentry Stakeholder Group concluded that roughly "80% of returning community members have chronic medical, psychiatric, or substance use disorders."

The costs to individuals and to society are enormous. Without treatment, these individuals are at increased risk of overdose within the first few weeks of reentry. In 2007, before the significant increases in prescription drug misuse of recent years, the National Drug Intelligence Center <u>estimated</u> that \$113 billion was associated with drug related crime while the cost of *treating* drug use was a fraction of the cost to society at \$14.6 billion.

The Reentry Act will help pave the way towards improved public health outcomes and public safety. Promising practices in the pre-release population include substance use disorder screening and treatment, post-release medication supply, discharge planning, data sharing between correctional systems and Medicaid agencies, collaboration between correctional systems and community providers and more.

Secondly, the pervasiveness of our nation's mental health and substance use disorder crisis is highly concentrated in our local jails. Across our nation, approximately 11 million people cycle in and out of local jails each year, 60% of whom are pre-trial detainees. The number of individuals being detained pre-adjudication has grown tremendously in the past several decades and paralleled the number of individuals in local jails that are experiencing mental illness and serious mental illness, often with co-occurring substance use disorders. According to the Council of State Governments, approximately 17% of people entering jails pretrial meet criteria for serious mental illness, and three quarters of people with serious mental illnesses in jails have co-occurring substance use disorder. This population is also by and large eligible, and in many cases, already receiving publicly funded health care.

The Due Process Continuity of Care Act would allow pretrial detainees, who have unfairly been stripped of their federal health benefits prior to due process, to receive Medicaid benefits at the option of the state to facilitate the continuation of necessary treatment for chronic, mental health and substance use disorder conditions.

These are complex issues requiring the efforts of federal, state and local leaders and our organizations stand ready to partner work with you to achieve these important outcomes for communities across the country.

Should you have questions or need further information, please contact Lauren Kallins at Lauren.Kallins@ncsl.org.

Respectfully,

200

Clarence E. Anthony CEO & Executive Director National League of Cities

David Adkins Executive Director/CEO

The Council of State Governments

Tom Cochran

CEO & Executive Director

om cochra

United States Conference of Mayors

Tim Storey

David Adkins

Chief Executive Officer

National Conference of State Legislatures

Matthew D. Chase

CEO/Executive Director

National Association of Counties

Cc:

Senator John Barrasso

Senator Michael Bennet

Senator Marsha Blackburn

Senator Sherrod Brown

Senator Maria Cantwell

Senator Benjamin Cardin

Senator Thomas Carper

Senator Robert Casey

Senator William Cassidy

Senator John Cornyn

Senator Catherine Cortez Masto

Senator Steven Daines

Senator Chuck Grassley

Senator Margaret Hassan

Senator Ronald Johnson

Senator James Lankford

Senator Robert Menendez

Representative Richard Allen

Representative Kelly Armstrong

Representative Troy Balderson

Representative Nanette Barragan

Representative Gus Bilirakis

Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester

Representative Larry Bucshon

Representative Michael Burgess

Representative Kathryn Cammack

Representative Antonio Cardenas

Representative Earl Carter

Representative Katherine Castor

Representative Yvette Clarke

Representative Angela Craig

Representative Daniel Crenshaw

Representative John Curtis

Representative Diana Degette

Senator Timothy Scott Senator Deborah Stabenow Senator John Thune **Senator Thomas Tillis** Senator Mark Warner Senator Elizabeth Warren Senator Sheldon Whitehouse Senator Todd Young

Representative Deborah Dingell Representative Jeffrey Duncan Representative Neal Dunn Representative Anna Eshoo Representative Elizabeth Fletcher Representative Russell Fulcher Representative Morgan Griffith Representative Brett Guthrie Representative Diana Harshbarger Representative Richard Hudson Representative William Johnson Representative John Joyce Representative Robin Kelly

Representative Ann Kuster Representative Robert Latta Representative Debbie Lesko Representative Doris Matsui

Representative Marianne Miller-Meeks

Representative Jay Obernolte Representative Gary Palmer Representative Gregory Pence **Representative Scott Peters** Representative August Pfluger Representative Raul Ruiz Representative John Sarbanes Representative Janice Schakowsky

Representative Kim Schrier Representative Darren Soto Representative Paul Tonko Representative Lori Trahan Representative Marc Veasey Representative Timothy Walberg Representative Randy Weber